Catchment Management Authorities (CMAs) were established in Victoria on 1 July 1997 with the aim of creating a whole of catchment approach to natural resource management in the state. The CMAs combined the roles of the former River Management Boards, Catchment and Land Protection Boards and community based advisory groups such as salinity plan implementation groups and water quality working groups.

The primary goal of the Victorian CMAs is to ensure the protection and restoration of land and water resources, the sustainable development of natural resources-based industries and the conservation of our natural and cultural heritage.

For more information about Victorian CMAs click here.

New South Wales

The NSW Government announced the establishment of 13 Catchment Management Authorities (CMAs) in December 2003. The CMAs are independent, statutory authorities whose charter is to engage regional communities in the management of natural resources issues facing their catchment. As in Victoria, the CMAs combined the roles of Native Vegetation Committees and other natural resource management committees.

The NSW CMAs are governed by a board of up to seven members and a General Manager. They are appointed by, and accountable to, the NSW Minister for Natural Resources, Planning and Infrastructure Development.

For more information about NSW CMAs click here.